#NewMusicFriday: What You Need To Hear

After we got an abundance of musical blessings last week it looks like the rain isn’t stopping any time soon. Let’s get into it.

Escape From New York – Beast Coast


Albums from groups are in a league all their own. However this project is from a SUPERGROUP, consisting of groups The Underachievers, Flatbush Zombies, and Pro Era for a total of 10 artists. These guys were essentially the soundtrack to my high school career with their solo work so to see them all come together for a full project is a nostalgic dream becoming reality. Before we were all invested in astrology and stones Beast Coast was already telling us to keep our third eye open. Being able to go between conscious rap, mellowed out vibes, hype or straight up gritty tracks is a tough feat but for these guys its simply in their nature to be masters of all of them.

Apollo XXI – Steve Lacy


Steve is the coolest guitarist/singer on the planet. After producing on the Grammy nominated Ego Death before graduating High School and expanding his production resume with credits on projects by Kali Uchis, Ravyn Lenae and of course The Internet themselves it’s safe to say he had a big couple of years. Now we finally get his his debut solo album following his EP like project Steve Lacy’s Demo from 2017. Worth the wait? Absolutely.

Flying Lotus – Flamagra


Some of y’all may not recognize this name. But, you’ll be very familiar once you finish listening. Flying Lotus is a producer but his music goes far beyond a melody and some drums. This project is 27 tracks long KEEP READING and features Anderson .Paak, Solange, Denzel Curry, Tierra Whack and more. There’s a healthy dose of instrumental tracks as well. If you don’t find something up here you like I don’t know what to tell you.

4 Real 4 Real – YG


With a rollout that’s gained mixed reactions YG is here with his latest album. Keeping to his West Coast roots he’s looking to redeem himself after his last project which was not well received by multiple fans. Will he be successful?

All these albums are available on streaming services now!


Battle Rap’s Own ‘Young Gattas’ On Why She Left The Battle Scene & What Lies Ahead

Young Gattas, currently residing in the new entertainment mogul city of Atlanta, is a female rapper who took the battle-rap scene by storm in 2009.  Her first appearance on Grind Time via WorldStarHipHop attained over 20k views, while she currently totals over 2 Mil views in battles altogether.

Arriving to the venues with straight hair and eyeliner, Gattas used this tactic to steer her opponents away from the attacks on her tomboyish appearance. Gattas quickly evolved into her own style however, depicting masculine attire with gritty rap bars to match. Known for riotous punchlines and wordplay, it was easy for Gattas to gain a fan base, making a name for herself in the battle rap industry on platforms like KOTD, Queen Of The Ring, Smack, and others.

Born and raised in Chicago, Gattas frequented back and forth between the Chi and Indianapolis during High School. Growing up, she credits her Grandma for her exposure to different genres of music.

“My grandmother would play a lot of weird stuff. Like, when we’d clean the house on Sundays, we’d listen to like, Queen and Celine Dion. Not really what black people would listen to” , she explains.

Ironically, growing up Gattas was into sports and not music. She didn’t become interested in pursuing a career in rap well after her High School graduation.

“I never knew until now. I was always dipping and dabbing in it until now. I haven’t put 100 percent into it until now, cause like, just look at the competition!” Gattas exclaims amusingly.

She dropped a mixtape in 2012 at the peak of her career entitled Belly of the Beast that she released on DatPiff. She notes some of the women in rap that she’s currently listening to: Rico Nasty, Tierra Whack, and Rhapsody to name a few. Even though Gattas took a short hiatus from the battle rap scene, she’s excited to jump back in at the top of 2019.

“I took a break from battle rap. The battle rap industry was becoming less about talent and I just fell back.” she explains.  She’s back on the battle scene in 2019, while also scheduling the release of her EP “No Favors” in May.

Gattas mentions her upcoming EP to be executive produced by DJ Brad of the Atlanta Coalition DJ’s. She’s also one of the featured rappers on the jingle for Atlanta’s very own Slutty Vegan.

“It was a contest! Slutty Vegan held a jingle contest. We went down to the truck the night before and shot a quick video. They let people decide in the comment section who the winners were, and we won.”

The food truck has caught the attention of celebrities like Tyler Perry, Big Boi, Jermaine Dupri and more. Young Gattas performed the jingle live for it’s guests at it’s opening to their Atlanta brick and mortar restaurant location in January.


Keep up with Young Gattas and learn more by following her on Instagram.

A$ap Rocky Announces His Winter Tour- The Injured Generation Tour

At last! Asap Rocky announces he will be going on tour 6 months after releasing his third studio album, Testing. 

The tour will kick off November 11 at Camp Flog Gnaw. Following that, Rocky will have 20 more shows that will officially end the tour mid-February in Miami, Fl.

Presale tickets will go on sale October 30 at 12pm.

Here’s a list of the cities you can catch The Injured Generation Tour:

  • 11/11/2018 – LA, CA
  • 12/08/2018 – NYC, NY
  • 01/08/2019 – Minneapolis, MN
  • 01/09/2019 – Chicago, IL
  • 01/11/2019 – Toronto, ON
  • 01/13/2019 – Montreal, QC
  • 01/15/2019 – Philadelphia, PA
  • 01/18/2019 – Uncasville, CT
  • 01/20/2019 – Washington, DC
  • 01/22/2019 – Greensboro, NC
  • 01/23/2019 – Duluth, GA
  • 01/25/2019 – San Antonio, TX
  • 01/26/2019 – Houston, TX
  • 01/27/2019 – Grand Prairie, TX
  • 01/30/2019 – San Diego, CA
  • 01/31/2019 – Inglewood, CA
  • 02/01/2019 – Sacramento, CA
  • 02/02/2019 – San Francisco, CA
  • 02/05/2019 – Portland, OR
  • 02/06/2019 – Kent, WA
  • 02/17/2019 – Miami, FL

Takeoff Releases His First Single, “Last Memory”, From His Upcoming Project, The Last Rocket

Takeoff announced his first solo project, The Last Rocket, last week. A day later, he then releases his first single from the project, Last Memory. 

Last Memory shows off the different flows and rages of Takeoff on a bass looped track. In the past year, Takeoff has gained the respect of his fans as being everyone’s favorite Migo after his trending meme “do it look like I was left off bad and bougie”. Well, now Takeoff is showing us his own style and creativity. 

Following Quavo’s solo album, Quavo Huncho- released October 12th, The Last Rocket is expected to release November 2nd. We can expect Offset to release sometime in December to close out 2018 with a solo album from all three Migos.